“Couldn’t allocate runtime area” after installing RX580 dGPU on Z370 Gaming 5 Mobo

ravenlost

New member
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Z370 Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i8086k
GPU
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8 Go
#1
Hello,

My system is as follows:

- High Sierra 10.13.6
- Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
- Intel 8086K
- Using Intel HD630 iGPU


My BIOS has the following configs:

M.I.T. → Advanced Memory Settings → Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.) : Profile1
BIOS → Fast Boot : Disabled
BIOS → LAN PXE Boot Option ROM : Disabled
BIOS → Storage Boot Option Control : UEFI
BIOS → CSM Support : Disabled
BIOS → Secure Boot : Disabled
Peripherals → Trusted Computing → Security Device Support : Disable
Peripherals → Network Stack Configuration → Network Stack : Disabled
Peripherals → USB Configuration → Legacy USB Support : Enabled
Peripherals → USB Configuration → XHCI Hand-off : Enabled
Chipset → Vt-d : Disabled
Chipset → Wake on LAN Enable : Disabled
Chipset → IOAPIC 24-119 Entries : Enabled

For Intel iGPU:
Peripherals → Initial Display Output : IGFX
Chipset → Integrated Graphics : Enabled
Chipset → DVMT Pre-Allocated : 128M


Additionally, I had also enabled Intel QuickSync to speed things up using Intel's GPU. I had followed a guide which resume the configs to this:

Clover Configurator: Graphics -> Enable Inject Intel and set ig-platform-id: 0x59120003 (use 0x59120000 if you don't have NVidia/AMD GPU)
Clover Configurator: Devices -> IntelGFX: 0x59128086
Clover Configurator: Enable Boot -> -disablegfxfirmare


Now, I just purchased a Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB card. Supposed to work OoB...

I install it on my 1st PCIe slot (PCIe x16); go into my BIOS and switch Initial Display Output to be PCIe 1st Slot. From readings, I decided to keep the iGPU enabled to use both, quick sync along my new dGPU. Reboot and plug in my monitor to the HDMI port on my RX card...

OSX starts up fine !! I see the 2 cards in my devices. Great !! Davinci Resolve, my color grading soft, also sees my RX580 card, and transcoding videos now goes 3x faster !!! I'm super happy. Shutdown the computer 'til next morning at work.

I power on and bam! I get a “Couldn’t allocate runtime area” message! OSX will no longer boot !!!
IMG-2453.JPG




Did a bit of research and I've tried setting slide=0 kernel flag to the Boot Arguments in Clover's config.plist and also tried with and without CsrActiveConfig=0x67... No luck !!! OSX still gives me the same problem! It won't boot...

So, I went back into my BIOS and reset my initial display to be iGPU, still no luck. The *only* way I'm able to get it to boot again is by physically removing the RX card !!

Surely, I am not the first one to install an RX card on the MB after using just the Intel GPU !? And why the heck did it work in the first place, and then stopped working without me doing anything !?

I really need some help with this one... Attaching along my config.plist....

XML:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>ACPI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>AutoMerge</key>
        <true/>
        <key>DSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>#DropOEM_DSM</key>
            <dict>
                <key>ATI</key>
                <true/>
                <key>Firewire</key>
                <true/>
                <key>HDA</key>
                <true/>
                <key>HDMI</key>
                <true/>
                <key>IDE</key>
                <true/>
                <key>IntelGFX</key>
                <true/>
                <key>LAN</key>
                <true/>
                <key>LPC</key>
                <false/>
                <key>NVidia</key>
                <true/>
                <key>SATA</key>
                <true/>
                <key>SmBUS</key>
                <false/>
                <key>USB</key>
                <true/>
                <key>WIFI</key>
                <true/>
            </dict>
            <key>Debug</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Fixes</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AddDTGP</key>
                <false/>
                <key>AddHDMI</key>
                <false/>
                <key>AddIMEI</key>
                <false/>
                <key>AddMCHC</key>
                <false/>
                <key>AddPNLF</key>
                <false/>
                <key>DeleteUnused</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FakeLPC</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixACST</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixADP1</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixAirport</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixDarwin</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixDarwin7</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixDisplay</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixFirewire</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixHDA</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixHPET</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixIDE</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixIPIC</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixIntelGfx</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixLAN</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixMutex</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixRTC</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixRegions</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixS3D</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixSATA</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixSBUS</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixShutdown</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixTMR</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixUSB</key>
                <false/>
                <key>FixWAK</key>
                <false/>
            </dict>
            <key>Name</key>
            <string>DSDT.aml</string>
            <key>Patches</key>
            <array>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>change HDAS to HDEF</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    SERBUw==
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    SERFRg==
                    </data>
                </dict>
            </array>
            <key>ReuseFFFF</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>DropTables</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Signature</key>
                <string>MATS</string>
            </dict>
        </array>
        <key>FixHeaders</key>
        <false/>
        <key>HaltEnabler</key>
        <false/>
        <key>SSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DropOem</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Generate</key>
            <dict>
                <key>CStates</key>
                <false/>
                <key>PStates</key>
                <false/>
                <key>PluginType</key>
                <true/>
            </dict>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>Boot</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Arguments</key>
        <string>-v dart=0 -disablegfxfirmware</string>
        <key>Debug</key>
        <true/>
        <key>DefaultVolume</key>
        <string>EFI</string>
        <key>Legacy</key>
        <string>PBR</string>
        <key>Secure</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Timeout</key>
        <integer>3</integer>
        <key>XMPDetection</key>
        <integer>1</integer>
    </dict>
    <key>Devices</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Audio</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <integer>11</integer>
            <key>ResetHDA</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
        <key>FakeID</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IMEI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IntelGFX</key>
            <string>0x59128086</string>
            <key>LAN</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>SATA</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>WIFI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>XHCI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
        </dict>
        <key>USB</key>
        <dict>
            <key>FixOwnership</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
        <key>UseIntelHDMI</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
    <key>DisableDrivers</key>
    <array>
        <string>Nothing</string>
    </array>
    <key>GUI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Hide</key>
        <array>
            <string>Windows</string>
            <string>BOOTX64.EFI</string>
        </array>
        <key>Language</key>
        <string>en:0</string>
        <key>Mouse</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Enabled</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Speed</key>
            <integer>8</integer>
        </dict>
        <key>Scan</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Entries</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Legacy</key>
            <string>First</string>
            <key>Linux</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Tool</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
        <key>ScreenResolution</key>
        <string>1920x1080</string>
        <key>Theme</key>
        <string>tonymacx86</string>
    </dict>
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <true/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>ig-platform-id</key>
        <string>0x59120000</string>
    </dict>
    <key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
    <dict>
        <key>#FakeCPUID</key>
        <string>0x010676</string>
        <key>AppleIntelCPUPM</key>
        <true/>
        <key>AppleRTC</key>
        <true/>
        <key>KernelCpu</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelLapic</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelPm</key>
        <true/>
        <key>KextsToPatch</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>External icons patch</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                RXh0ZXJuYWw=
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                SW50ZXJuYWw=
                </data>
            </dict>
        </array>
    </dict>
    <key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BooterConfig</key>
        <string>0x28</string>
        <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
        <string>0x3</string>
        <key>MLB</key>
        <string>C02R43ZCGG7LKDIQG</string>
        <key>ROM</key>
        <data>
        4NVerhxX
        </data>
    </dict>
    <key>SMBIOS</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
        <string>09/25/2018</string>
        <key>BiosVendor</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>BiosVersion</key>
        <string>IM171.88Z.F000.B00.1809251200</string>
        <key>Board-ID</key>
        <string>Mac-B809C3757DA9BB8D</string>
        <key>BoardManufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>BoardSerialNumber</key>
        <string>C02R43ZCGG7LKDIQG</string>
        <key>BoardType</key>
        <integer>10</integer>
        <key>BoardVersion</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
        <key>ChassisAssetTag</key>
        <string>iMac-Aluminum</string>
        <key>ChassisManufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>ChassisType</key>
        <string>0x09</string>
        <key>EfiVersion</key>
        <string>161.0.0.0.0</string>
        <key>Family</key>
        <string>iMac17,1</string>
        <key>FirmwareFeatures</key>
        <string>0xFC0FE137</string>
        <key>FirmwareFeaturesMask</key>
        <string>0xFF1FFF3F</string>
        <key>LocationInChassis</key>
        <string>Part Component</string>
        <key>Manufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>Mobile</key>
        <false/>
        <key>PlatformFeature</key>
        <string>0x00</string>
        <key>ProductName</key>
        <string>iMac17,1</string>
        <key>SerialNumber</key>
        <string>C02R43ZCGG7L</string>
        <key>SmUUID</key>
        <string>AEC6A44E-66F5-4653-9CAF-6FD704BFC35C</string>
        <key>Version</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
    </dict>
    <key>SystemParameters</key>
    <dict>
        <key>InjectKexts</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>InjectSystemID</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
</dict>
</plist>

And my loaded kexts (when I'm able to boot without the rx card)...
Code:
Patricks-iMac:~ raven$ sudo kextstat | grep -v com.apple
Index Refs Address            Size       Wired      Name (Version) UUID <Linked Against>
15    2 0xffffff7f80a90000 0x22000    0x22000    as.vit9696.Lilu (1.2.8) 54014689-C8DA-318B-84F4-944BBA7AD2AC <7 5 4 3 2 1>
16    0 0xffffff7f80ab2000 0x60000    0x60000    as.vit9696.WhateverGreen (1.2.4) 25D369F5-0FD8-3264-9060-3FDB014904BC <15 12 7 5 4 3 2 1>
17    0 0xffffff7f80b1d000 0x4000     0x4000     com.rehabman.driver.USBInjectAll (0.6.5) A63DACD5-10FE-3A1C-BCB1-4EEF5308B7CC <12 11 4 3>
18    0 0xffffff7f80ec0000 0x12000    0x12000    org.netkas.driver.FakeSMC (1787) 48B68964-E812-3912-B518-AB8750DC2D22 <11 7 5 4 3 1>
19    0 0xffffff7f81061000 0xdf000    0xdf000    as.vit9696.AppleALC (1.3.3) B60FCBAF-6BC2-36EF-A1E6-D5BE2863C35B <15 12 7 5 4 3 2 1>
57    0 0xffffff7f80dba000 0x14000    0x14000    com.insanelymac.IntelMausiEthernet (2.4.0) F99BECF1-A2CE-3C72-A66F-FCFBD5395306 <20 12 5 4 3 1>
65    0 0xffffff7f80bbf000 0x17b000   0x17b000   at.obdev.nke.LittleSnitch (5094) 8C6CB9D1-CC0A-3342-9FD5-7D5680E7ECC6 <7 5 4 3 1>
72    0 0xffffff7f80d71000 0xc000     0xc000     org.catacombae.iokit.IOLVMPartitionScheme (2014.11.15) B9CFD03B-2DA6-33EE-8669-DE38DD2DBB6B <23 5 4 3>
120    0 0xffffff7f80b23000 0x41000    0x41000    com.paragon-software.filesystems.ntfs (319.2.15) DEE61437-E151-3482-ADB8-D40F479872BD <7 5 4 1>
136    0 0xffffff7f83058000 0x19000    0x19000    com.github.osxfuse.filesystems.osxfuse (3.8.2) 7AA38E46-2C0C-39C5-B790-6451370874DA <7 5 4 3 1>

Thank you so much for your help !!

Pat
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#2
First your CPU is a better match for a iMac 19.2 smbios. But the minimum this smbios can run on is Mojave 10.14.4 (a special build that isn't available from the App Store) , so you would need to run Mojave 10.14.5 with this CPU and the closest matching smbios.

The Intel Graphics ig-pladform-id you used is for a Kaby Lake CPU. Your CPU is a Coffee Lake processor, your UHD 630 ID's is 0x3E92. So your ig-platform-id should be 0x3E920003 and the Fake Device Id 0x3E938086.

Link here for your i7-8086K CPU - https://ark.intel.com/content/www/u...8086k-processor-12m-cache-up-to-5-00-ghz.html

Here is a link for the specifications for your motherboard - https://www.gigabyte.com/uk/Motherboard/Z370-AORUS-Gaming-5-rev-10#sp

This tells us that you have the following components on your motherboard:
  • Intel Ethernet - IntelMausiEthernet.kext
  • ALC1220 Audio Codec - AppleALC.kext
  • Intel USB Controller - SSDT or USBPorts.kext required for these to work correctly under macOS
  • Asmedia USB Controller - May/May not work under macOS.
  • Thunderbolt connector - needs Add-on card but both Alpine Ridge and Titan Ridge cards will work.
For the 'Couldn't Allocate Runtime Area' error I would suggest you try Nick Woodman's OSXAptioFix2-free2000.efi driver in place of the OsxAptioFix... driver you are currently using. Copy of Nick Woodman's driver is attached.

I have attached a tweaked version of your config, plist, so it has the correct ig-platform-id and made a few other minor adjustments, that will hopefully help your system run better.

I have added a number of DSDT/SSDT rename patches; a couple of ACPI fixes; the Intel graphics fixes mentioned above; USB port Limit removal patch for 10.13.6. I have also checked your current smbios serial number works with EveryMac and Apple Support so no one with a real Mac is using this SN.

Hope this helps.
 

Attachments

ravenlost

New member
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Z370 Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i8086k
GPU
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8 Go
#3
Wow, thanks Edhawk ! Seems I had a lot of misconfigured stuff !!! I'll try your suggestions as soon as Im back to work tomorrow and will update. Once this job is over, I do plan on upgrade to Mojave 10.14.5 (probably go for a fresh install - better ?).. Meanwhile if I still can get it working, that'll be great, since upgrading will take me some time. I also have Linux on the same hdd which I dont want to screw up.. just need to be sure of my steps..

Anyhow, I'll update about these fixes for tomorrow !

Thanks again for your great response !
Pat
 

ravenlost

New member
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Z370 Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i8086k
GPU
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8 Go
#4
UPDATE :

So, I've tried replacing my config.plist (doing a backup of course) with your modified config Edhawk. Are you absolutely certain about your ig-platform-id and Fake Device ID ? Note that I haven't placed in my RX card yet! Still just on the Intel GPU..

It booted up, but thought it was slower booting up. Additionally, my "about Mac" now shows me it's just a 7MB card (used to be 1536MB).

BEFORE your fix:
About OSX - before fix plist.png


AFTER your fix:

About OSX - after fix plist.png


And moreso, my Davinci Resolve will no longer start when using your config...:

davinci - after fix plist.png


So, this wasn't quite working out here...

Although, I did like the fact that now, only my real OSs partitions showed up in my Clover (windows, linux, mac), and not all of the extra windows rescue ntfs partitions, etc.. But guessing that wasnt much to fix.. and out of scope for my real problem!

Thanks again for your help !
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#5
I'm surprised at these results. The Intel information definitely says the ig-platform-id I provided (0x3E92) is correct. But if your previous ID works, then your previous settings must be correct.

Did the config and alternative OsxAptioFix... driver fix the original error - 'Couldn't allocate runtime error...'

I've attached a configv2.plist that has your original Intel graphics details, but with the other changes I made. Just rename it config.plist before you use it.
 

Attachments

ravenlost

New member
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Z370 Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i8086k
GPU
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8 Go
#6
Well, I tried keeping all your configs, and just changed the ig-platform-id and Fake Device ID to what I had before: same problem! The Intel GPU is still at only 7MB... not working properly...

Could this have anything to do with my SMBIOS at iMac 17,1 ? I had tried iMac 18,3 but get weird glitches with video .. plus seems slower to boot etc. 17,1 is what did work with my original config.plist....

If it can help in any way, I just outputed an html file showing the differences between my original config.plist (left column), and yours (right column)... We see what's changed from another..
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#7
Nothing I can see that is untoward in the Diff.HTML file. The changes and additional data all appear appropriate for your system.

Yes I believe you would be better off using a different smbios, iMac 18.2 or 18.3 seem to be the common ones people go with for Coffee lake CPU's, if they are still on High Sierra. I would choose iMac 19.2 if I were on 10.14.5 Mojave with your system.

There is a specific ig-platform-id (0x59120003, Kaby Lake CPU) for the UHD 630 GPU and smbios 18.2/18.3 in Clover Configurator. Maybe because of the mixed settings macOS is not playing as it should.
 

ravenlost

New member
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Z370 Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i8086k
GPU
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8 Go
#8
Okay, so I've applied all your configs to mine, one by one to see (without the RX580 card in)... I left out the following :

- kept my UseIntelHDMI = True (this is needed in order to have sound go through HDMI plugged into my intel hdmi port... (while using just in Intel GPU)

- I didn't apply your "USB 10.13.6+ by PMHeart" kext patch since I have an custom SSDT for my USB ports...

Additionally... :
- Kept my Fake IntelGFX Device ID to my initial setting of 0x3E928086.
- Kept my ig-platform-id to my initial setting of 0x59120003.

* as soon as I change either of these, OSX will be a lot slower to boot, have video glitches and show my Intel GPU as only 7MB ! Plus, my verbose output while booting no longer seems to display info about IGPU... which it was before:

IMG-2475.JPG



I've tried changing my SMBIOS to either 18.1, 18,2 or 18,3... nothing works! Same results.... I HAVE to stay at iMac 17,1 + use my initial Intel device ID and ig-platform...

Finally, seeing that it didn't work with your IntelGFX fake id and ig-platform-id, I've also left out the following :

Code:
                <key>Properties</key>                                                                                          
                <dict>                                                                                                                            
                        <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>                                                                    
                        <dict>                                                                                                                    
                                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>                                                                       
                                <data>                                                                                                            
                                AwCSPg==                                                                                                          
                                </data>                                                                                                            
                                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>                                                           
                                <data>                                                                                                            
                                AQAAAA==                                                                                                          
                                </data>                                                                                                            
                                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>                                                              
                                <data>                                                                                                            
                                AAAwAQ==                                                                                                          
                                </data>                                                                                                            
                        </dict>                                                                                                                    
                </dict>
What is this for anyways?

So I gave the RX card another shot... As a last test, I tried saving "OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi" to my /EFI/ClOVER/drivers64UEFI folder; tried booting with that in, along with the AptioMemoryFix-64.efi (which replaces OsxAptioFix*Drv.efi if I understand)... it's a no go: same “Couldn’t allocate runtime area” error. Doesn't work. Tried keeping only OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi and removing AptioMemoryFix-64.efi this time: doesn't work either. Same problem!

So, I don't freakin get it here !! Why the heck did it work first time I plugged the rx card in, and then, after a shutdown, no more !!!? WTF!? And why the heck can't I use the recommended SMBIOS / FakeID / ig-platform-id it says to use everywhere!?

I am so annoyed by this problem now... :(
 
Last edited:

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#9
How you are feeling is not uncommon. Welcome to the world of Hackintosh!

Regarding the Device > Properties you posted above, the screenshot below shows how these look in Clover Configurator:

Screen Shot 2019-06-05 at 14.01.26.png


It is much easier to see what is being input when the information is shown as DATA (text) rather than in HEX mode, which your post above does. The AAPl,ig-platform-id shows the id for the Intel GPU, in reverse so your IGPU id of 0x59120030 becomes 03001259. The table below shows the device ID's that should be used with either a Coffee Lake or Kaby Lake CPU, plus the change you would need to make if you have a discrete GPU, as you do. This information was taken from a Mojave installation guide by Hackintosher - https://hackintosher.com/guides/guide-to-fresh-installing-macos-mojave-on-a-hackintosh-10-14/
  • Coffee Lake Intel UHD Graphics 630
    • iGPU:
      • AAPL,ig-platform-id: 07009B3E
    • dGPU:
      • AAPL,ig-platform-id: 0300923E - this should be the one you use with your RX 580!
  • Kaby Lake Intel HD Graphics 630
    • iGPU:
      • AAPL,ig-platform-id: 00001259
    • dGPU:
      • AAPL,ig-platform-id: 03001259 - this is the one shown above in the Device > Properties screenshot.
What are you using to edit your config.plist? I use Clover Configurator (CC) &/or Xcode, but mostly CC. You shouldn't use a text editor as they can mess your config up so it won't boot.
 

ravenlost

New member
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Z370 Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i8086k
GPU
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8 Go
#10
...What are you using to edit your config.plist? ....
Okay, thanks for the clarification about the hole ig-platform-id stuff... Do not worry though, I DO use Clover Configurator as well.. It was just easier to copy /paste from the diff file what I didn't implement on mine...

UPDATE though:

Now, I'm back with my original Fake Device ID and ig-platform-id... I don't have your Device > Properties set..

I was able to get the RX 580 card going again, properly booted up OSx..

What I did:

1) set my initial display to be PCIe 1st Slot:
IMG-2482.JPG



2) DISABLED the iGPU in my BIOS and booted up : worked!

3) RE-ENABLED the iGPU and booted up: FAILED!

IMG-2481.JPG


Seeing how it failed to boot again, and remembering cross-reading that the error I'm getting has something to do with memory, I dropped by half DVMT Pre-Allocated (64M) and DVMT Total Gfx Mem (128M)...

OSX Boots up !!! And I'm now seeing my 2 cards in my devices...
Is this a "real" solution to maximize my video encoding and all ? Any thoughts on this? Based on this "new" findings, anything I should try (new) or again ?

Thanks so much for your time and help with this!!!
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#11
Going purely on logic the IGPU not working with the dGPU is nonsensical! But that is part of the world of Hackintosh.

Yes, I would recommend you download and open Hackintool app from Tonymacx86 - https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/release-hackintool-v2-5-9.254559/.

Read the guide Headkaze has provided for the App.

Read Headkaze's Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen guide, plus the guides written by CaseySJ and jaymonkey, these guides are all linked in the first paragraph of the opening post.

The latest version of the Hackintool App can be found at the bottom of the first post.

Reading these guides will give you a much better understanding of what you are doing and why things sometimes don't work.
 

ravenlost

New member
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Z370 Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i8086k
GPU
Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8 Go
#12
Looks like I'll be having some reading to do ;) Anyhow, keeping my setup as it is for now... Might not be optimal, but works better than without the RX card.. I'll probably end up installing Mojave fresh after the movie shoot I'm on..

Meanwhile, if I end up on some other finding re. this, I'll update here.

Now if this movie shoot can be done with...

Thanks so much Edhawk for your time and help!!!
Pat
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#13
You are welcome.
 

keilun

New member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
macOS
10.14.5
Mobo
AORUS Z370 Ultra Gaming 1.0
CPU
i-8700k
GPU
Dual Sapphire RX580 Nitro
#14
Looking at your screenshot I see Above 4G decoding is disabled. Enable it and the error will disappear. Had the same issue and it fixed it.
 

Latest posts