14.2 or 15.1

Joined
Nov 7, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
HD4600 - Sapphire AMD RX580 8Gb
#1
Hi everyone and congratulations on the forum
Please, What would be a better match for a GA-Z97X chipset and a 4790K, the iMac 14,2 or 15,1?
I currently have i7-4790K with intel HD4600 smbios 14.1 and functions well , but tomorrow I receive Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 580 8GB.

There is really a advantage imac 15.1 over imac 14.2 ?

Thank you
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#2
iMac 15.1 is a better match for the i7-4790K. It was a configurable CPU option from Apple when the iMac 15.1 was released.

I have two systems running that CPU and both use the 15.1 SMBIOS. One even uses the same Gigabyte motherboard as your system - GA-Z97X-UD5H. That particular system runs with two PowerColor RX580 8GB graphics cards.

Not sure there is an advantage, just a closer match to what Apple's OS expects to find.

If you want I can have a look at your CLOVER folder and see if it can be improved.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
HD4600 - Sapphire AMD RX580 8Gb
#3
15.1 Perhaps an improvement in energy management?
But Is Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen required?

Today I installed RX 580 8GB .. native support, perfect.

is attached folder EFI
I work with very few modifications in Clover
USB 3 not work completely in all ports.

Thank you for your interest
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#4
I have had a look at your EFI/CLOVER folder and would offer the attached CLOVER-15-1 folder as a replacement. This as you might have guessed uses a SMBIOS for an iMac 15.1. You should rename it as CLOVER before you use it to replace your current CLOVER folder.

The /CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder contains an SSDT-UIAC.aml, SSDT-EC,aml and SSDT-XOSI.aml for the Z97X-UD5H motherboard.

I have attached a copy of the kexts I had installed in my /Library/Extensions folder. You should install these kexts to your /Library/Extensions folder using Kext Beast. You should then repair permissions and rebuild the kernel cache with Kext Utility.

I have attached a copy of a recent Clover release Clover-2.5k_r5097, which uses the /CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folder rather than the older /CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder. You should install this so the CLOVER folder I have attached works on your system. Update teh Clover version before you boot with my CLOVER folder and the new config.plist

Let me know how you get on with these folders etc.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#6
Glad to hear that it worked on your system.

You should have most of the USB ports working correctly as well. I disabled the USB parts of a number of the USB3 ports on the rear I/O plate, three of the bottom four blue coloured ports only work with USB3 components, if I recall correctly.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#8
Nice benchmarks.

Out of curiousity do you have a WiFi/BT card installed in your system, for Continuity, Handoff and AirDrop?

I use these cards/units in my Hacks for Apple WiFi (AC) and BT 4.0.

PCI-E adapter & Broadcom card - https://smile.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00MBP25UK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o08_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Unfortunately they are currently out of stock in the UK but something similar may be available where you live. They work perfectly with just the AirportBrcmFixup.kext.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
HD4600 - Sapphire AMD RX580 8Gb
#9
I use this wifi TP-LINK TL-WDN4800 native support up High Sierra, but in Mojave Apple removed the support for Atheros based WiFi Adapters from the IO80211Family.kext , I add AirPortAtheros40.kext manually and work well.
I do not use Bluetooth.... for example mouse used Wireles (Mouse Microsoft), the keyboard (Apple) is connected to with cable.
But is a very good suggestion ABWB 802.11AC WI-FI and of course I'll have to bear it in mind
As you say this product is no longer in stock, Amazon.Uk, Amazon.De, Amazon.Es ......, maybe ebay , but I'm not in hurry, I'll keep looking.

Thank you so much as usual
 

Latest posts