Black screen after Catalina update, partially solved

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#21
That is because I rushed and forgot to attach it to the post. Doh!

It is attached to this post.
 

Attachments

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#22
That is because I rushed and forgot to attach it to the post. Doh!

It is attached to this post.
This v2 also gives same error during boot. See the SS
 

Attachments

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#23
I have made a couple of revisions to the config.plist, dropping two SSDT's.

Try this configv2.plist in place of the other and let me know if that helps.
 

Attachments

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#24
I have made a couple of revisions to the config.plist, dropping two SSDT's.

Try this configv2.plist in place of the other and let me know if that helps.
I used v2 clover folder and configv2.plist, still stuck at the beginning of boot
 
Last edited:

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#25
Try this one, configv3.plist.
 

Attachments

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#26
Try this one, configv3.plist.
Booted, without metal support, no graphic acceleration, crawling. I thinkin order to activate metal, we have to inject ATI with FAKE ID ,but then DP port is not selected in last step of login.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#27
Try just the ATI inject=true first, reboot and see what difference it makes.

Then if that didn't fix it, add the 0x68101002 Fake ID for the ATI/AMD card, but remove the ATI Inject=true option.

It may be that together they mess up the DP connector, one or the other may work on their own.
 

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#28
Try just the ATI inject=true first, reboot and see what difference it makes.

Then if that didn't fix it, add the 0x68101002 Fake ID for the ATI/AMD card, but remove the ATI Inject=true option.

It may be that together they mess up the DP connector, one or the other may work on their own.
I tested all possible combinations such as
ATI inject=true , no fake ID and no FB Login with no metal
ATI inject=false , fake ID= 088101002 and no FB Login with no metal
ATI inject=true , fake ID= 088101002 and no FB Login to black screen , DP port not selected
ATI inject=true , fake ID= 088101002 and FB=Futomaki Login to black screen , DP port not selected.
I had also tested by replacing all 4 AMD kexts(AMD7000, AMDX4000,AMDFramebuffer, AMDService with AMD kexts from 10.15.0 release , but surprisingly it also did not solve. Something has permanently been changed when I moved from 10.15.0 to 10.15.1/10.15.2.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#29
Wrong Fake ID used. You should be using 0x68101002, to fake GPU that works out of the box with macOS.
 

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#30
Wrong Fake ID used. You should be using 0x68101002, to fake GPU that works out of the box with macOS.
Sorry, it is just typo made here, I, of course , used 68101002.
 

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#31
Sorry, it is just typo made here, I, of course , used 68101002.
Edhawk, I made a clean install of 10.15.1 with OC 5.1 boot loader, R9 270 is now indicated as AMD Radeon HD 7xxx 4 MB, graphic acceleration is OK. Thanks for your support.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#32
The 4 MB means your system is using the wrong framebuffer for your AMD card, and that acceleration is not working. But if you are happy with the way it works, that is your call.

The reason the R7 370 card is recognised as HD 7xxx is because it is using the Radeon default framebuffer, nothing is being used to over ride this automatic selection. It is also because your card uses the AMD7000Controller.kext, which also covers the HD 7000 series of cards.

You might want to have a look at this compatability guide for AMD Graphics cards, yours is mentioned in the 7000 Controller section as not working out of the box - https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/radeon-compatibility-guide-ati-amd-graphics-cards.171291/

You are welcome.
 

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#33
The 4 MB means your system is using the wrong framebuffer for your AMD card, and that acceleration is not working. But if you are happy with the way it works, that is your call.

The reason the R7 370 card is recognised as HD 7xxx is because it is using the Radeon default framebuffer, nothing is being used to over ride this automatic selection. It is also because your card uses the AMD7000Controller.kext, which also covers the HD 7000 series of cards.

You might want to have a look at this compatability guide for AMD Graphics cards, yours is mentioned in the 7000 Controller section as not working out of the box - https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/radeon-compatibility-guide-ati-amd-graphics-cards.171291/

You are welcome.
I later then used Clover with my old Clover folder and it is now correctly shown R9 270 4MB. My only trouble remained is now , I could not find a solution for Netflix 1080p in Safari due to lack of HEVC.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#34
For HEVC you need both the Intel GPU and the AMD GPU working correctly, with full acceleration, which your AMD card doesn't have. As shown by the fact it is only showing 4MB.

The Setings for Hardware encoding/decoding/Acceleration with your Ivy Bridge CPU and R7 370 should be as follows;
  • FakeID for IntelGFX = 0x01628086
  • Ig-platform-id = 0x01620007
  • InjectIntel=true
  • shikigva=60
You may also need to add this boot argument:

-rad4200

That is according t
o the information I have read on this and the Olarila site.

You also need Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen.kext to be present in either your /CLOVER/kexts/Other or /Library/Extensions folder.
 

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#35
For HEVC you need both the Intel GPU and the AMD GPU working correctly, with full acceleration, which your AMD card doesn't have. As shown by the fact it is only showing 4MB.

The Setings for Hardware encoding/decoding/Acceleration with your Ivy Bridge CPU and R7 370 should be as follows;
  • FakeID for IntelGFX = 0x01628086
  • Ig-platform-id = 0x01620007
  • InjectIntel=true
  • shikigva=60
You may also need to add this boot argument:

-rad4200

That is according to the information I have read on this and the Olarila site.

You also need Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen.kext to be present in either your /CLOVER/kexts/Other or /Library/Extensions folder.

I had tested many combinations , but I could not get HEVC which seems to be impossible with HD4000. Today I tested your above settings in Clover, still no HEVC.
 

Attachments

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#36
I have actually tested many combinations of these and non of them enabled HEVC AND DRM to enable 1080p in Netflix. today, I also tested above once again , no result. With shikivga, netflix play the movie with a red screen and audio. I also added ioreg report.
 

Attachments

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#37
Having looked at the IOReg, I would point out the following:

SMBIOS:
Your system is using an iMac 18.2 SMBIOS. This is completely wrong for your Ivy Bridge system. You would be better served using one of the iMac 13.x, 14.1 or 14.2 SMBIOS's.

USB:
Your USB ports are limited to only 8 active ports on the XHC - HS01 - 04 and SS01 - 04.

Your motherboard has the following USB ports:
Intel® Z77 chipset :
4 x USB 3.0 port(s) (2 at back panel, blue, 2 at mid-board)​
Intel® Z77 chipset :
8 x USB 2.0 port(s) (4 at back panel, black+white, 4 at mid-board)​
ASMedia® USB 3.1 Gen 1 controller :
2 x USB 3.0 port(s) (2 at back panel, blue)​

This Asus board contains a maximum of 20 No ports (each USB 3 port also has a USB 2 port, so they need to be counted twice). So your set up is not activating 12 of these ports.

You should investigate how to create a USBPort.kext or SSDT.UIAC.aml for your system. It would probably help with any sleep/hibernation issues you are encountering.

IGPU/dGPU:
The IGPU is being recognised with the ig-platform-id=07006201. This is correct for your Intel HD 4000 graphics, which uses the Intel Capri framebuffer.

Your AMD R7 370 is being recognised as a HD7000 with the Device ID 10680210, which is the Fake ID added to your config.plist. It is also using the ATI Framebuffer - Futomaki, which is also set in your config.plist. Neither of which are corret for your card.

While both GPU's are working as set in your config.plist. Only the IGPU is set correctly.

I have added the correct Device ID for your dGPU to the three AMD kexts linked here - https://1drv.ms/u/s!Arj1YfXqaF5JhPoBJqe9gW2jbiTVmQ?e=WMSeKR. The three files will be available for a week. The share link will expire on 24/11/2019.

Device ID 0x10026811 for your R7 370 GPU. The three kexts were copied from my Catalina 10.15.1 installation, opened in Xcode, the Dev ID added to the necessary points in each of the three kexts. I couldn't attach them directly to this post as one of the kexts is over 120mb in size.

I would suggest you try installing these three kexts to your /System/Library/Extensions folder, using a good kext installer, which allows you to select the location that the kext is to be installed.

Remember you need to repair permissions and rebuild the kernel cache before rebooting your system.

I would in the first instance make a copy of the three kexts that are currently in your /System/Library/Extensions folder and save them somewhere safe. So you can revert back to these kexts if something goes wrong.

I would then remove the Fake ID ATI entry, and Futomaki framebuffer entry. Let macOS and the three revised kexts sort out which Framebuffer your card uses.

This is not a permenant fix, you will need to reinstall these three kexts everytime you install an update to macOS.
 

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#38
Having looked at the IOReg, I would point out the following:

SMBIOS:
Your system is using an iMac 18.2 SMBIOS. This is completely wrong for your Ivy Bridge system. You would be better served using one of the iMac 13.x, 14.1 or 14.2 SMBIOS's.

USB:
Your USB ports are limited to only 8 active ports on the XHC - HS01 - 04 and SS01 - 04.

Your motherboard has the following USB ports:
Intel® Z77 chipset :
4 x USB 3.0 port(s) (2 at back panel, blue, 2 at mid-board)​
Intel® Z77 chipset :
8 x USB 2.0 port(s) (4 at back panel, black+white, 4 at mid-board)​
ASMedia® USB 3.1 Gen 1 controller :
2 x USB 3.0 port(s) (2 at back panel, blue)​

This Asus board contains a maximum of 20 No ports (each USB 3 port also has a USB 2 port, so they need to be counted twice). So your set up is not activating 12 of these ports.

You should investigate how to create a USBPort.kext or SSDT.UIAC.aml for your system. It would probably help with any sleep/hibernation issues you are encountering.

IGPU/dGPU:
The IGPU is being recognised with the ig-platform-id=07006201. This is correct for your Intel HD 4000 graphics, which uses the Intel Capri framebuffer.

Your AMD R7 370 is being recognised as a HD7000 with the Device ID 10680210, which is the Fake ID added to your config.plist. It is also using the ATI Framebuffer - Futomaki, which is also set in your config.plist. Neither of which are corret for your card.

While both GPU's are working as set in your config.plist. Only the IGPU is set correctly.

I have added the correct Device ID for your dGPU to the three AMD kexts linked here - https://1drv.ms/u/s!Arj1YfXqaF5JhPoBJqe9gW2jbiTVmQ?e=WMSeKR. The three files will be available for a week. The share link will expire on 24/11/2019.

Device ID 0x10026811 for your R7 370 GPU. The three kexts were copied from my Catalina 10.15.1 installation, opened in Xcode, the Dev ID added to the necessary points in each of the three kexts. I couldn't attach them directly to this post as one of the kexts is over 120mb in size.

I would suggest you try installing these three kexts to your /System/Library/Extensions folder, using a good kext installer, which allows you to select the location that the kext is to be installed.

Remember you need to repair permissions and rebuild the kernel cache before rebooting your system.

I would in the first instance make a copy of the three kexts that are currently in your /System/Library/Extensions folder and save them somewhere safe. So you can revert back to these kexts if something goes wrong.

I would then remove the Fake ID ATI entry, and Futomaki framebuffer entry. Let macOS and the three revised kexts sort out which Framebuffer your card uses.

This is not a permenant fix, you will need to reinstall these three kexts everytime you install an update to macOS.
I have done all above changes replaced all 3 kexts with Kext Utility, removed Fake ID and Futomaki(Actually I had removed it yesterday and it did not cause any trouble for graphic acc.) but metal feature is lost. For some reason 6811 does not activate metal.
 

Attachments

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#39
Your latest IOReg shows your system is recognising the AMD R7 370 is installed in 'Slot-0' with the Dev ID 6811. It is automatically defaulting to the Futomaki framebuffer.

It also shows that the Intel Accelerator is not active, whereas in the first IOReg it was active.

Did you make any changes to the Intel GPU in your config.plist? If yes, change it back.

The latest IOReg is also showing that the AMDRadeonx4000.kext is not loaded, well I think that is what it is showing.

This kext being missing or the issue above with the IGPU could be the reason metal support is not showing.

What is About This Mac Showing for your Graphics card? Is it still HD 7xxx.
What is System Information > Graphics/Displays showing for your system?

Can you post screenshots for the following:
  1. About this Mac
  2. Intel GPU and
  3. AMD GPU
 

Avatara

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
macOS
10.15.0
Mobo
ASUS Maximus Formula V
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
GPU
ASUS R7 370
#40
Your latest IOReg shows your system is recognising the AMD R7 370 is installed in 'Slot-0' with the Dev ID 6811. It is automatically defaulting to the Futomaki framebuffer.

It also shows that the Intel Accelerator is not active, whereas in the first IOReg it was active.

Did you make any changes to the Intel GPU in your config.plist? If yes, change it back.

The latest IOReg is also showing that the AMDRadeonx4000.kext is not loaded, well I think that is what it is showing.

This kext being missing or the issue above with the IGPU could be the reason metal support is not showing.

What is About This Mac Showing for your Graphics card? Is it still HD 7xxx.
What is System Information > Graphics/Displays showing for your system?

Can you post screenshots for the following:
  1. About this Mac
  2. Intel GPU and
  3. AMD GPU
Something is wrong with kext replacement, I also don't see AM7000Controller.kext in system information although Kext Utility had confirmed replacement. About this Mac is showing R9 270 since yesterday. Maybe this was the reason of my kext change failures. Which utility you are using ? I am now sure that modified kexts are not loaded by the system.
 
Last edited: