Catalina 10.15.2 update hangs on Apple logo (esxi vm)

Kaku

macOS
So I managed to get a Catalina 10.15 vm up and running in ESXi 6.7u2. When I try to install Catalina updates, however, it goes to the Apple logo, status bar crawls just a bit, reboots again and hangs on the Apple logo. To fix this, I either remove or disable "Mac OS" as an option in the bootloader. Is there a way to get these updates to install?

Can Clover fix this? I am just learning about it and it seems to have potential.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Edhawk

macOS
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
You need to select the 'Install MacOS from 'Name of Drive' - DATA' option. You need to keep selecting this Install from DATA icon as long as it keeps appearing on your Clover boot screen. When the installation process has finished the icon will disapear from the Clover boot screen. Then you can select your normal macOS Catalina icon to boot and finish the update installation.

Kaku

macOS
I just installed clover but not sure what to do next. Is there a doc I can follow for exactly this issue?

Edhawk

macOS
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
Questions/clarifications required:
  1. Where have you installed Clover?
    • To the EFI partition of the macOS drive?
  2. Which mode did you use when installing Clover?
    • Legacy Mode or
    • UEFI mode?
  3. Do you know which kexts (drivers) you need for your system?
  4. Do you know which efi drivers you need to include?
  5. Have you got a working config.plist that you can add to the /EFI/CLOVER folder?
You need to complete the information in your signature/system details, so anyone looking at this post knows which motherboard, CPU and graphics card you are using to run Catalina.

Kaku

macOS
Is my motherboard relevant given I’m running this as a VM? When I mount the EFI, I only see a single file two sub folders down. I’ll have more info exactly what is there soon.

Kaku

macOS