FCPX can't export H.264

Joined
Jan 24, 2018
macOS
10.14.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
Intel i7-8700K
GPU
Asus Radeon RX 580
#1
Hey!

In my ongoing attempts to get Thunderbolt to work on my Hackintosh I've come so far as it seems I have finally gotten the Gigabyte Alpine-Ridge (Rev 2.0) to work. (by changing Internal Graphics in BIOS from ENABLED to AUTO or DISABLED)

However, when the Thunderbolt card is installed, FCPX (and Compressor) cannot export to H.264!! I can export the BryceX test project to H.264 but as soon as I'm using a project with actual video in it I get an "Export Failed" message.

As FCPX is my main application, this little thing is a kinda big deal.

Anyone have any suggestions??
 

Zonkeytom

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
macOS
10.13.5
Mobo
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700k
GPU
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition aircooled
#2
I have a similar situation with the same symptoms. In my case, I cant boot (stop sign) with IGPU and Thunderbolt enabled at once. One at a time works. Haven´t found a solution yet.

Just in case you are interested in comparing EFI´s or anyone is able and willing to help, I attached my EFI folder :) .
 

Attachments

Last edited:

jws

New member
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU
XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS XXX Edition (8GB)
#3
Can you try this ? Surprisingly it worked for me.
Mine is
- Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
- Intel i7-8700K
- XFX Radeon RX580

1. Clover Configurator and open config.pllist
2. Click SMBIOS and edit following fields
  • Product Nam: iMac18,3
  • Bios Version: IM191.88Z.0058.B00.1705091711
  • Board-ID: Mac-CF21D135A7D34AA6
Let me know how it turns out for you
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
macOS
10.14.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
Intel i7-8700K
GPU
Asus Radeon RX 580
#4
Let me know how it turns out for you
IT WORKS!!!!! I want to throw rose petals in front of you and kiss the earth you walk on!!! THANK YOU!!!!!

For reference, I have:
- Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
- Intel i7-8700K
- ASUS Radeon RX580 OC DUAL

It was already set to iMac 18,3 so what I changed was the Bios Version and the Board-ID...

THANKS YOU SO MUCH AGAIN!! Now I can use my Apollo Twin mkII and export from FCPX at the same time. What a marvel!!
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
macOS
10.14.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
Intel i7-8700K
GPU
Asus Radeon RX 580
#5
I have a similar situation with the same symptoms. In my case, I cant boot (stop sign) with IGPU and Thunderbolt enabled at once. One at a time works. Haven´t found a solution yet.
Did you try setting it to "AUTO"? I get the stop sign when IGPU is set to enabled, but when set to AUTO it works...
 

jws

New member
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU
XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS XXX Edition (8GB)
#6
I DISABLED iGPU. There are some articles about make it ENABLED to make HECV works, but I don't see any difference.

What's your benchmark score ?
Here is mine.

  • GeekBench OpenCL Score: 139438
  • CINEBENCH R15 Open CL: 149.55 fps
  • LuxMark v3.1 OpenCL GPUs: 15337
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
macOS
10.14.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
Intel i7-8700K
GPU
Asus Radeon RX 580
#7
Cinebench: 145fps (usually differs a few frames every time I run it, max was 149, I believe)
GeekBench OpenCL: 129919
BryceX: 16 seconds (export to H.264)
Don't know what LuxMark is...
 

dcphoto

New member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
z370 gaming 5
CPU
8700k i7
GPU
Radeoon Vega 56
#8
Cinebench: 145fps (usually differs a few frames every time I run it, max was 149, I believe)
GeekBench OpenCL: 129919
BryceX: 16 seconds (export to H.264)
Don't know what LuxMark is...
Finally got H.264 working by switching the SMBIO, thank you. I'm getting 23 seconds on BruceX, which seems slower than I should. How do you have your bios set? Also how did you get your Gigabyte Alpine-Ridge (Rev 2.0) to work? I'm about to send mine back because I can't get usb 3.1 or thunderbolt recognized. thanks again
 

nyclide

New member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Hp z600
CPU
Inte Xeon 5570
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX560 Pulse 4GB GDDR5
#9
are you using lilu and whatevergreen kext?
for usb you might want to try usbinject all kext
 

nyclide

New member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Hp z600
CPU
Inte Xeon 5570
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX560 Pulse 4GB GDDR5
#11
I have those kexts and have my rx 560 working on full using final
 

dcphoto

New member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
z370 gaming 5
CPU
8700k i7
GPU
Radeoon Vega 56
#12
FCPX is rocking for me now. I was hoping you could help me out getting my Gigabyte Alpine-Ridge (Rev 2.0) to work. I don't know if there something in the BIOS I need to do or if I'm missing a kext.
 

nyclide

New member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Hp z600
CPU
Inte Xeon 5570
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX560 Pulse 4GB GDDR5
#13
Go to the bios towards the bottom of this menu there is an option called 'TBT USB3.1 Force Power' by default it is set to Enabled, disable it and it might work check it out
 

nyclide

New member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Hp z600
CPU
Inte Xeon 5570
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX560 Pulse 4GB GDDR5
#14
And do you have usbinjectall kext on your clover?
 

jws

New member
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU
XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS XXX Edition (8GB)
#15
Finally got H.264 working by switching the SMBIO, thank you. I'm getting 23 seconds on BruceX, which seems slower than I should. How do you have your bios set? Also how did you get your Gigabyte Alpine-Ridge (Rev 2.0) to work? I'm about to send mine back because I can't get usb 3.1 or thunderbolt recognized. thanks again
I assume that you use dGPU (something like RX580). Please make sure that iGPU disabled in BIOS. In my case, FCPX share was way slower then iGPU is enabled.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
macOS
10.14.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
Intel i7-8700K
GPU
Asus Radeon RX 580
#16
Also how did you get your Gigabyte Alpine-Ridge (Rev 2.0) to work?
I enabled everything in the Thunderbolt setting and put it to "No authorization" or whatever it was... But what ultimately made it start up at all was switching the iGPU from ENABLED to AUTO (disabled works too)... Once I got the computer started with the thunderbolt card installed it all just worked basically...
 

pepeeze

New member
Joined
Oct 8, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
GB Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
8700K
GPU
XFX RX 580
#17
I enabled everything in the Thunderbolt setting and put it to "No authorization" or whatever it was... But what ultimately made it start up at all was switching the iGPU from ENABLED to AUTO (disabled works too)... Once I got the computer started with the thunderbolt card installed it all just worked basically...
Are you on 10.13.6 ? Can you share config file? EFI? Which BIOS version are you using? F7?

I'm having the same issue, basically failing anything using h.264 even tho HW acceleration would show enable... Then I changed the ID values as shown above and got FCP and Compressor to finally export H.264 materials, however, HW acceleration is now disabled... Of course if I enable iGPU in Bios, i'll get the dreaded stop sign at boot.

Any setups that got HW accel to work properly with FCP / Compressor with a TB 3 card installed in 10.13.6 ?

Thanks!
 

pepeeze

New member
Joined
Oct 8, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
GB Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
8700K
GPU
XFX RX 580
#18
Can you try this ? Surprisingly it worked for me.
Mine is
- Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
- Intel i7-8700K
- XFX Radeon RX580

1. Clover Configurator and open config.pllist
2. Click SMBIOS and edit following fields
  • Product Nam: iMac18,3
  • Bios Version: IM191.88Z.0058.B00.1705091711
  • Board-ID: Mac-CF21D135A7D34AA6
Let me know how it turns out for you
Can you share EFI folder? Thanks!
 

pepeeze

New member
Joined
Oct 8, 2018
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
GB Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
8700K
GPU
XFX RX 580
#19
I have a similar situation with the same symptoms. In my case, I cant boot (stop sign) with IGPU and Thunderbolt enabled at once. One at a time works. Haven´t found a solution yet.

Just in case you are interested in comparing EFI´s or anyone is able and willing to help, I attached my EFI folder :) .
Have you found a solution yet? Thanks!