GA-Z270X-DESIGNARE for Pro Tools 12

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#21
Try this:

Boot your normal drive.
While on the Clover boot screen, highlight your Hackintosh HD icon.
press the spacebar and select 'Safe Mode' -x and boot the system.

Dinner has just been called, back in 15 minutes.
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Onboard Intel HD Graphics 630
#22
OK.
That worked. Booted into Safe Mode.
Screen is Purple but we're in.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#23
Unfortunately you can't mount the EFI folder in Safe Mode but you can make some changes to reverse the changes I made.

Navigate to your EFI backup folder on the root of your Hackintosh HD.

Make a copy of one of the most recent backups of your CLOVER folder. Copy it to the 'Clover' USB. Make sure it is not a copy of my CLOVER folder.

Now, Go to your trash bin and right-click on the GenericXHCI and NullPowerManagement kexts. Select 'Put Back'.

Open Terminal and enter these commands (in bold) one at a time, this will repair permissions and rebuild the kernel cache for /Library/Extensions and /System/Library/Extensions:

sudo chmod -Rf 755 /S*/L*/E*
sudo chmod -Rf 755 /L*/E*
sudo chown -Rf 0:0 /S*/L*/E*
sudo chown -Rf 0:0 /L*/E*
sudo kextcache -i /
Exit Terminal and restart your computer for the repairs to take effect.

Easiest way to get these commands right when entering them in to Terminal is to copy and paste each line, one at a time and press enter after pasting the line of text to activate it.
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Onboard Intel HD Graphics 630
#24
Here is my latest MultiBeast Config.
 

Attachments

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#25
Given your system specifcations you have made a number of erroneous choices when configuring your Multi-Beast installation.

I would change the following:
  • 3rd Party SATA - Not needed for Kaby Lake system
  • 3rd Party eSATA - Not needed for Kaby Lake system
  • Intel Generic AHCI SATA - Not needed for Kaby Lake system
  • NullCPUPowerManagement.kext - CPU Power Mangement fixed by adding config.plist entry Plugin Type=true
  • 3rd Party USB 3.0 - Obsolete for most newer systems & versions of macOS.
  • 7/8/9 Series USB Support - not needed for Kaby Lake, used for Ivy Bridge or Haswell
  • System Definition iMac 14.2 - should be iMac 18.3 to match your CPU.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Onboard Intel HD Graphics 630
#26
Ed, for some reason the .aml files cannot be downloaded here.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Onboard Intel HD Graphics 630
#27
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#28
OK, so the two USB cards you have installed use the following controllers:
  • Rosewill RC-505 - Renesas chipset
  • StarTech PEXUSB312C2 - Asmedia - ASM2142 chipset
Neither will affect the 15 port limit Apple introduced, nor will they require any patches, as the port limit and patches are only for Intel USB ports.

I assume you have mXHCD.kext installed to /Library/Extensions or the /CLOVER/kexts/Other folder, and this driver will be activatiing the USB ports on the two PCI-E cards.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#29
Here is a copy of the SSDT-UIAC-A2AF-Z270X-Designare.aml I created for your Z270X-Designare system. I have also attached an SSDT-EC.aml which will need to be used alongside the SSDT-UIAC.

To install these SSDT's you need to mount your macOS drive, use Clover Configurator.

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.28.57.png Open Clover Configurator - this is the Home screen with nothing selected.

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.29.14.png Navigate to the 'Mount EFI' tab below the 'Tools' heading in the left hand navigation bar

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.29.33.png Select the 'Mount Partition' button next to your macOS drive.

In my case this is the APFS Container [Mojave, Preboot, Recovery, VM]. Now when the System control window pops up you need to enter your password.

This action will allow Clover Configurator to mount the hidden 'EFI partition'.

An new Hard Drive icon will appear on your desktop, named 'EFI'.

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.29.50.png Select the 'Open Partition' button in Clover Configurator.

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.30.12.png This will open the EFI Partiton/HD icon. This screenshot shows the contents of my EFI partition.

Open the 'EFI' folder.

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.30.23.png This screenshot shows the contents of my EFI folder.

Open the 'CLOVER' folder.

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.30.34.png This screenshot shows the contents of a standard CLOVER folder, using Clover_v2.5k_r5099.

Open the 'ACPI' folder.

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.30.43.png This screenshot show the contents of a standard ACPI folder, with three sub-folders.

Open the 'patched' folder.

Screenshot 2019-12-07 at 17.30.52.png This screenshot shows the the contents of my 'patched' folder.

Yours will be empty or may possibly contain the SSDT-XOSI.aml.

This is the location where you need to copy the two SSDT's. /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder.

I usually drop the leading /EFI designation when writing locations in any posts in the forum, so I wold write /CLOVER/ACPI/patched.

Hope that helps.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Onboard Intel HD Graphics 630
#30
Ed, as I said, when I couldn’t get the main HACK HD to boot/post properly I just booted from the backup HD. Then I cloned it over.
I have NO idea what changed.
I didn’t “go in” and make any physical changes.

I needed the machine to boot and to work on a Pro Tools session that was booked in the studio.
And I didn’t want to do that from the backup HD.

That HD is there for EXACTLY this reason. When the main HD crashes due to “whatever”, I can clone back and keep working.

The client was extremely happy with the way the machine responded. No beach balls, no waiting for anything to load, no hiccups of any kind.
The processors were running at less than 20%. Everything was fast.
Sessions loaded quickly. Saves to the external USB-c drive, which we were also recording to were fast and glitch free.
God only knows what kind of performance I’ll get when everything is running at the proper speeds.

And all this without a graphics card, which EVERYONE says is needed for fast screen re-draws.
So at the moment I have a good stable Pro Tools machine.
That’s half the battle won.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Onboard Intel HD Graphics 630
#31
Here is a screen shot I took after adding the two SSDT files.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
2 x Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#32
Post a copy of your Bootlog and IOReg. That will show more clearly what is happening with regards how the two SSDT's are working or not.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Onboard Intel HD Graphics 630
#33
Files attached below.
 

Attachments