GA-Z270X-DESIGNARE for Pro Tools 12

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#41
Ed, that didn't work.
I did see the new screen and I picked my Hack HD.
Here's the verbose screen that came up.
 

Attachments

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#42
Use a different USB drive. Install Clover to the USB in UEFI mode, then copy the new CLOVER folder to the EFI folder on the EFI partition on the USB drive.

Use that spare USB drive to boot your system.

I am shocked you are using a USB to boot your system. I expected you to be booting from your macOS drive.

I would strongly recommend that you install Clover to your macOS drive. You should not be relying on your USB to boot your system.

Download a copy of the latest Clover release from here - https://github.com/CloverHackyColor/CloverBootloader/releases, select this option from the list shown - Clover_v2.5k_r5103.pkg

Then follow these steps:
  1. Plug in your spare USB drive, move any data on the USB to as safe place, as we will be formatting the drive and deleting all the information on the USB.
  2. Eject your normal USB boot drive, don't want you selecting the wrong USB when we undertake the next steps:
  3. Open Disk Utility:
  4. Select your spare USB drive from the list of devices shown in the left hand column:
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 12.57.17.png Disk Utility window, with only volumes shown
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 12.57.43.png Select View drop down menu and 'Show All Devices'
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 12.58.06.png Select the higher level device for your USB, and Select 'Erase'
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 12.58.24.png Use the settings shown here, select Erase button
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 12.58.37.png Disk Utility will start erasing and re-formatting the drive.
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 12.59.05.png Select 'Done' and close Disk Utiltiy.
  5. Now we come to the Clover installation:
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.07.29.png Open the Clover package you downloaded:
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.08.23.png Select Continue button
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.08.31.png Select Continue button
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.08.43.png Select Continue button
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.09.04.png Select 'Change Installation Location' button
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.08.56.png Select your USB named Clover, select Continue button
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.09.04.png Select 'Customisation' button bottom left
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.09.18.png Select the top two options only, then select Install button
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.09.34.png Enter your password to confim the installation
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.10.58.png Select Close button, Clover will now be installed to the USB
  6. Now comes the part where you replace the CLOVER folder on the USB:
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.11.14.png Open the new EFI partition visible on your Desktop
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.11.27.png Open the EFI folder
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.11.36.png Drag and Drop the CLOVER folder I provided to the EFI folder This will replace the CLOVER folder just created on the USB as part of the Clover installation process, which is no use to anyone, with the revised CLOVER folder I provided.
All Done!

The USB is now ready yto be used to boot your system with the revised CLOVER folder.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#43
Kernel panic is probably because I deleted the wrong Aptio driver, when revising your CLOVER folder.

If you remember I said that there were two Aptio drivers in your /CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder and I deleted the AptioMemoryFix-64.efi driver.

Well we need to add that driver back in to the folder, and remove the OsxAptioFix-64.efi driver that I left in the /CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder.

A revised CLOVER folder with the other Aptio driver is attached for you to use.
 

Attachments

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#44
Good morning Ed.
I am not using the USB drive to boot the system.
The system boots from the internal HackHD.

It just ALWAYS resides in the rear USB2 port on the machine.

Since the machine is completely built (hardware wise) with no further need to open it up, it is now tucked away behind my desk.
Leaving the USB drive in the rear port saves me from having to crawl back there every time I would need to use it.

Like yesterday, when you asked me to replace the Clover Folder.

I will read through your post above again and get to work creating the new Clover USB drive as soon as I have my morning cuppa rosie lea.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#45
Morning Anthony,

Sorry I missunderstood how you have your system setup, good to know you have the system booting from your macOS drive.

You will need to press F8 when you see the Bios/Gigabyte splash screen, so you can select to boot from the Clover USB.

Remember to select the UEFI partition for the Clover USB. Partition might be named something like 'UEFISanDisk' in the Boot list.
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#46
Ed, I have created the new CloverUSB per your instruction above.

Press F8? Or F12?
F12 normally brings me to the screen where I can pick which disk to boot from.

F12 was what I was pressing yesterday.
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#47
Once I get everyone out the door, I'll get to work with this new CloverUSB. It's breakfast time here and I'm the chief cook and bottle washer, amongst other things.
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#48
OK, Ed.
I booted the machine (pressing F12) from the new CloverUSB.
Picked my HackHD and it booted in verbose mode and here we are.
ALL GOOD.

Internet is working.
Audio from the USB DAC port is working.
All the HDs show up on the desktop.

Would you like a new bootlog?
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#49
Yes please to the bootlog and copy of your IOReg as well if you can.

Sorry F8 is for one of my Asus motherboards, Doh!
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#50
Here ya go.
I hope I exported the IOReg properly.
 

Attachments

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#51
Ed, after you make your tweaks, can I assume that I will need to replace the old EFI partition on the HackHD with the new one you will be creating?

Since the new CloverUSB drive I created this morning boots the machine, is my old "original" Install Mojave USB bootloader obsolete?
Can I erase that? Once everything is working as it should, I normally make a clone of the USB bootloader and put in away for safety.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#52
Ok first things first: Following a review of your bootlog.

I have attached a revised CLOVER folder, with what should be the final amemdments we will be making to your system boot files. I have made the following minor amendments:
  1. Added CsmVideoDxe-64e.fi to your /CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder. This should improve the Clover boot screen resolution which is currently only 1360x768 (equivalent to a low end laptop's resolution).
  2. Your config.plist has been changed as follows:
    1. Removed verbose boot argument -v
    2. Removed Change EC0 to EC rename patch, not used by your system
    3. Removed XHC1 to XHC rename patch, not used by your system.
Nothing major changed as it looks OK, other than requiring these minor amendments.
 

Attachments

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#53
So mount the hidden EFI folder on my HackHD and replace that Clover folder?
Or do this on the new CloverUSB drive?
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#54
The LG TV (that's what I'm using as a monitor) looks fantastic btw. I can't resize anything but the native resolution of 1360x768 looks perfect.

Will CsmVideoDxe-64e.fi give me the option to change size?
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#55
Following a review of your IOReg I am still a little unsure about your USB setup.

You have four USB ports attached to RP01/IOPP/PXSX, as shown in the scrrenshot below

Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 17.14.44.png

Possibly the USB ports attached to the Thunderbolt controller on your motherboard, but not showing as such because you do not have a Thunderbolt card intalled. Probably these ports are the identification of the virtual ports from the two physical USB-C ports.

You have 9 No USB2 ports and 4 No USB3 ports attached to the XHC controller. This is a total of 13 ports, you should/can have two more ports, for a total of 15 virtual USB ports active on your system.

Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 17.15.58.png

You may find these ports are sufficient for your needs and that they work for you just fine at their designated speeds.

Just be aware if you have any intention of adding a compatible WiFi/BT card in the future that you will need to activate one more virtual USB port for the Bluetooth connection. You ahve two spares so it should not be an issue, but you will have to reconfigure your SSDT-UIAC.aml to accomodate the additional USB port.

NVMe drive connections:
The other non-critical ssue I noticed is that one of your NVMe drives is attachd to PEG1/IOPP/GFX0. GFX0 is normally the designation reserved for the dedicated graphics card on an Apple system. If you look in the Hackintool app on the PCI tab, this NVMe drive is probably identified as a Diplay adapter or not identified at all, it is unlikely to be shown as a storage device.

It probably won't stop the drive from working but it is something to note if you have any issues with this PEG1/IOPP/GFX0 component in the future. I assume that this is your Windows drive.

Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 17.14.11.png


Your other NVMe drive containing your macOS installation is attached to Root Port No 9, and identified as I would expect, RP09/IOPP/PXSX

Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 17.15.04.png


So nothing really untwoard, just a couple of points to keep in mind for the future.
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#56
Ed, before I make any changes I'm going to answer your questions/thoughts one by one.

Thunderbolt controller on your motherboard...
This MB does not have a Thunderbolt controller.
And it does not have any thunderbolt i/o.
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#57
Probably these ports are the identification of the virtual ports from the two physical USB-C ports.

Let's assume that is correct for the moment.
 

Attachments

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#58
The LG TV (that's what I'm using as a monitor) looks fantastic btw. I can't resize anything but the native resolution of 1360x768 looks perfect.

Will CsmVideoDxe-64e.fi give me the option to change size?
Only for the Cllover boot screen resolution. The config is set to show the Clover boot screen at 1920x1080, standard Full HD resolution. Shouldn't make the icons and text too small.

It will not effect the screen resolution you have set in macOS. That is controlled via the System Prefereences > Displays tab. The screenshots below show the two optional views you can have when you open the Displays tab:

1. Default for Display, this has no user options available.

Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 17.57.41.png


2. Scaled, this option allows you to select the screen resolution you want, in your case a much smaller resolution than your TV can display. For me it is set a 2560x1440 for my Dell Monitor

Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 17.57.52.png


Ed, before I make any changes I'm going to answer your questions/thoughts one by one.

Thunderbolt controller on your motherboard...
This MB does not have a Thunderbolt controller.
And it does not have any thunderbolt i/o.
Yes, I am really slipping today, I looked at the wrong motherboard spec and saw a TB connector, with a pair of Type-C USB ports.

The four ports shown in the screenshot are connected to your board's Asmedia 2142 USB controller, not a Thunderbolt controller. I believe there are a couple of new Apple systems that also use this Asmedia 2142 USB controller.
 

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#59
Both Yellow USB3DAC ports are populated with audio USB DAC devices. They both work.
The top RED USB3.1 port has a USB3 hub attached to it.
That is the Patriot Memory
The bottom USB3-C is now populated with a USB-C SSD and shows 10Gb speed.
 

Attachments

aaquilato

New member
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
macOS
10.14.6
Mobo
GIGABYTE Z270X-DESIGNARE
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake 4-Core 4.2 GHz
GPU
Radeon RX 580 GPU
#60
The top BLUE USB3 port does not work. This is where I thought I was past the 15 port limit.
The bottom BLUE USB3 port has the iLok plugged into it. This instantiates my plugins for Pro Tools.
 

Attachments