macOS
10.11.x
Mobo
Gigabyte Ga-G41m
CPU
Q8400
GPU
R9 280
Hi guys, newbie here, As per title i need a board which would work with least issues, a Gigabyte please. Wish to pair it with i5-9400f. Wish to try the opencore method. Thank you.

Edhawk

macOS
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
You need to think about the compatible discrete GPU you are going to use as well. As the ‘F’ series CPU’s don’t have an IGPU.

The Gigabyte Z490M Gaming X motherboard might be worth a look.

macOS
10.11.x
Mobo
Gigabyte Ga-G41m
CPU
Q8400
GPU
R9 280
You need to think about the compatible discrete GPU you are going to use as well. As the ‘F’ series CPU’s don’t have an IGPU.

The Gigabyte Z490M Gaming X motherboard might be worth a look.
Hi thanks for your reply. I am looking for a rx 470 or 570 or even a 580, but its a zoo here at the moment. Price is flying sky high for used ones. Will use the r9 280 or a sucky 5770 at the moment.
By the time i am done with open core, i hope i will find a gpu.

The Z490m, will it take 9th gen ? Thanks.

Edhawk

macOS
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
My mistake, the Gigabyte Z490M Gaming X motherboard supports 10th and 11th Gen Intel CPU's sorry.

Compatible mATX 8th & 9th Gen Gigabyte boards include these two:
Z390M - https://www.gigabyte.com/uk/Motherboard/Z390-M-rev-10#kf and
Z390 M Gaming - https://www.gigabyte.com/uk/Motherboard/Z390-M-GAMING-rev-10#kf

These boards may not be easy to obtain, as most will now be stocking the 400 series. You may need to look for a second-hand motherboard.

The R9 280 dGPU, which is the equivalent of a HD7950 would be the better choice, as you no doubt already know, as it supports Apple's Metal graphics.

I am not sure if the AMD HD 5770 supports metal and is able to run Mojave, Catalina or Big Sur. I am fairly sure macOS support for the AMD 5000 series stopped with the final version of macOS High Sierra.