No audio

alexxk

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Asus Prime B450M-A
CPU
Amd Ryzen 5 - 1600
GPU
GTX 1050 TI OC
#1
Hello.

I have 1 issue with my first hackintosh laptop - there is no audio and the icon is greyed,

I’ve created the setup 2 or 3 years ago by following tony’sMac guide for Clover, however the audio and the wi-fi were never activated. However a few days ago i’ve decided. to start using Rekordbox, and i need a working audio in order to re-route the signal to the virtual BlackHole.

My laptop is hp probook 450 g1, and is running under high Sierra 10.13.6

currently i have these kexts:

FakeSMc
Lilu
RealtekRtl8111
Sata-100-se...
UsbInjectAll
VoodooPs2Controller (that is for the audio i guess)
WhateverGreen

Anyway the whole dual boot system is working flawlessly for 2-3 years.

Thx in advance!
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#2
Assuming your laptop has a Realtek audio codec I would recommend you add AppleALC.kext to your /CLOVER/kexts/Other folder.

You will need to add Audio layout ID to your config.plist, this goes in the Devices section.

Not sure which ID you would need to inject, as it would depend on which codec your system uses.

also remember that macOS doesn’t automatically select your audio device. You have to select the device from the list found under the System Preferences > Sound > Output tab.
 

alexxk

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Asus Prime B450M-A
CPU
Amd Ryzen 5 - 1600
GPU
GTX 1050 TI OC
#3
Mm okay

About the codec here is a screenshot .
A836C8EB-43A8-4F32-8ECF-82A8BC7BCF1F.jpeg
939F65A2-7EC2-40C3-9111-606D45211208.jpeg
 

alexxk

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Asus Prime B450M-A
CPU
Amd Ryzen 5 - 1600
GPU
GTX 1050 TI OC
#4
After a research, i found out that the audio codec for the laptop audio chipset is IDT 92HD91 (according to this https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c03963187 )

So, since the laptop uses IDT 92HD91 audio chipset, the AppleALC kext is loaded in the other folder (and the HDAS to HDEF was inserted on ACPI page, as well as Audio code 0x100102 + resetHDA in Devices page) but there is still no audio.
 
Last edited:

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#5
According to the AppleALC.kext codec support page your IDT codec is supported. I have attached a partial screenshot below showing the IDT codecs, with your IDT92HD91 highlighted:

Screenshot 2020-06-28 at 15.49.24.png


You need to add one of the layout ID's shown above to your config.plist, as shown below in the Clover Configurator Devices Tab screenshot, the Audio section is again highlighted:

Screenshot 2020-06-28 at 15.53.39.png


The image above Injects the layout ID=3, this may not work with your system. You may need to try more than one of the ID's listed in the AppleALC.kext screenshot before you find one that works for you.

When you edit your config.plist only edit the Audio section. You will need to save the config.plist and then reboot your system see if the Injected Layout ID has worked. Remember to will need to check that the system speakers are selected as the audio device output, on the System Preferences > Sound > Output tab, as shown below:

Screenshot 2020-06-28 at 15.59.27.png


This is the screenshot from one of my hack's, with the internal speakers selected for sound output. Your Output tab will look different, as you are not going to have as many audio devices listed.
 

alexxk

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Asus Prime B450M-A
CPU
Amd Ryzen 5 - 1600
GPU
GTX 1050 TI OC
#6
Tried every single code (0x100102, 0x100303, 3, 12, 13, 33, 84)
and still, there is nothing in the output.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#7
Where are you installing AppleALC.kext, in to /CLOVER/kexts/Other or /Library/Extensions folder?

Do you have Lilu.kext in the same folder, are they both recent versions of the kexts?

Do you have any Audio patches or fixes other than the Layout ID applied in your config.plist, i.e. older Audio KextsToPatch fixes?

Do you have VoodooHDA installed? - if yes remove it.

Have you tried to patch your AppleHDA.kext previously, as this would mess up how AppleALC.kext works. You need to be working with an original AppleHDA.kext from High Sierra 10.3.6, if that is the version you are using on your system.

I have attached a clean original version of AppleHDA.kext from High Sierra 10.13.6, for you in case you need it. This came from a Clone of a High Sierra drives that I keep stored on one of my iMac Servers.
 

Attachments

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#8
Just for clarity if you do use the AppleHDA.kext I provided, it needs to be installed to your /System/Library/Extensions (/S/L/E) folder. It should not be copied and pasted in to the /S/L/E folder, as this will cause your system problems when you try to boot drive.

I would recommend you use Kext Utility or Hackintool application, as both apps will repair permissions and rebuild the kernel cache as part of the kext installation. With Hackintool just make sure you select the /S/L/E folder no the /Library/Extensions folder.
 

alexxk

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
Asus Prime B450M-A
CPU
Amd Ryzen 5 - 1600
GPU
GTX 1050 TI OC
#9
Where are you installing AppleALC.kext, in to /CLOVER/kexts/Other or /Library/Extensions folder?
/CLOVER/kexts/Other

Do you have Lilu.kext in the same folder, are they both recent versions of the kexts?
/CLOVER/kexts/Other - updated with the recent version from gitHub's vandroiy2013 dir

Do you have any Audio patches or fixes other than the Layout ID applied in your config.plist, i.e. older Audio KextsToPatch fixes?
No any audio patches spotted but i can share the clover folder

Do you have VoodooHDA installed? - if yes remove it.
nope

Have you tried to patch your AppleHDA.kext previously, as this would mess up how AppleALC.kext works. You need to be working with an original AppleHDA.kext from High Sierra 10.3.6, if that is the version you are using on your system.
No such kext detected in the whole clover folder but i saw it in the expensions folder.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.5
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#11
No, post a copy of your CLOVER folder including a copy of your your ACPI tables, so I can see what you are using.

ACPI tables can be extracted by pressing the F4 or fn+F4 keys while on the Clover boot screen. The tables will be saved in the background with no indication that anything is happening. They will be saved to the /CLOVER/ACPI/origin folder on your USB or macOS drive, whichever you are using to boot the HP laptop.
 

Latest posts