[SOLVED] Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 RAM issues

PGC77

New member
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
macOS
10.13.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7 8700K
GPU
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G
#1
Hi

I've built my first hackintosh with this build guide: Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 Hackintosh Build Guide

Since the beginning, I have an issue with my memory. I have 64GB of Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 RAM (4 x 16GB).

I noticed some random freezes when rendering from After Effects 2018. I then ran Memtest86 and i get some errors.
When I install only two modules, everything runs fine BUT it doesn't matter which of the two modules or which slots (1/2 or 3/4) I also tested each module individually in each socket and I had no problems either. So I'm a bit stuck and don't know, what else could be the problem.

In Bios I have XMP enabled and the RAM is running at 3000 Mhz.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
 

Hackintosher

Administrator
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
macOS
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
i3-8100
GPU
UHD 630 Graphics
#2
Does the system recognize the 64GB and Have you tried disabling XMP? Also when using two sticks you are suppose to do 1/3 and 2/4.

You can also try manually entering the RAM in SMBIOS -> Memory of your config.plist

Maxmen.png
 

PGC77

New member
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
macOS
10.13.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7 8700K
GPU
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G
#3
Thanks for the reply.
Yes, I'm aware of the 1/3 and 2/4 Slots (I just used the numbers as described in the manual :)

The Bios and also OS X show 64GB of RAM.

I have now disabled XMP, set the memory speed to 2400 Mhz and ran another Memtest. So far, it's working fine.

But I just checked again the Gigabyte Qualified Vendor List (QVL) for my memory type/model and I saw, that my RAM modules are not qualified for a 4 socket setup. I totally overlooked that.

I already orderes new RAM that should work (Corsair Vengeance LPX 4 x 16GB DDR4 3200 P/N CMK32GX4M2B3200C16W).

They should arrive tomorrow and I will report, how it works with the new modules.
 

Hackintosher

Administrator
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
macOS
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
i3-8100
GPU
UHD 630 Graphics
#4
Thanks for the reply.

But I just checked again the Gigabyte Qualified Vendor List (QVL) for my memory type/model and I saw, that my RAM modules are not qualified for a 4 socket setup. I totally overlooked that.

I already orderes new RAM that should work (Corsair Vengeance LPX 4 x 16GB DDR4 3200 P/N CMK32GX4M2B3200C16W).

They should arrive tomorrow and I will report, how it works with the new modules.
That's probably it .I remember having RAM isues on an old hackintosh that wasn't on the compatiblity list. I use to get memory related Kernel Panics
 

PGC77

New member
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
macOS
10.13.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7 8700K
GPU
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G
#5
Yeah, I'm pretty confident, that this could be the issue.

Can't believe, I haven't read the QVL in more detail. I've spent the whole day checking my RAM o_O

As i said, tomorrow my new RAM modules should arrive and I can do some more tests.
 
Last edited:

PGC77

New member
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
macOS
10.13.2
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7 8700K
GPU
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G
#6
Just a short update: After installing 4 new RAM modules, my Hackintosh is running fine now. No more freezes while rendering in After Effects 2018 and Memtest gives no errors.

Heres the advice to everyone who likes to install 4 memory modules: Check out the QVL List very carefully and make sure that your Motherboard supports four Ram modules and not only two.
 

Hackintosher

Administrator
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
macOS
Mobo
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
i3-8100
GPU
UHD 630 Graphics
#8
I have finally got a good deal for Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 MoBo. Can you please let me know what model RAM will run perfectly with it? I am looking at corsair vengeance will this be good?

https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Veng...1523155010&sr=1-1&keywords=CMR16GX4M2C3000C15

Will buy 16 GB for now and maybe 16GB more in future if the need be and the prices for RAM comes down.
That RAM is on the supported list.

Here's the memory support list for the Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 for future reference.

http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Memory/mb_memory_z370-aorus-gaming-7_180327.pdf
 

someguy

New member
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
macOS
10.13.3
Mobo
Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
8700K
GPU
GTX 970
#9

nitin

New member
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
macOS
10.13.3
#10
I am getting a good deal on this RAM $150 for

G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3000 (PC4 24000) Desktop Memory Model F4-3000C15D-16GTZR


I already have aorus z370 gaming 7 by gigabyte.
Should I pull the trigger?