(Solved) Intel HD 4000 No gpu acceleration

Joined
Apr 16, 2021
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
HP Compaq 4300
CPU
Intel Core I5 3475S @2.90ghz
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT 1030 & Intel HD Graphics 4000
#1
Just did a fresh install of macOS high Sierra and my intel hd 4000 won’t work I tried to get it to work but all attempts failed. I only got vga and dvi single link output and I know it’s a framebuffer issue but I can’t figure it out. And I know my gt 1030 is supported but I want the intel igpu to work so I can upgrade to later versions of macOS
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#2
Post a copy of your CLOVER or OC folder so we can see what you are currently using. Blank out the Serial Number etc. when you post a copy of the folder and config.plist.

Can you also post a copy of your ACPI tables.

To obtain a copy of the ACPI Tables from your system when using Clover, do the following:
  1. The ACPI Tables can be obtained by pressing the 'F4' key while on the Clover Boot Screen.
  2. The tables are saved in the background, with no evidence that anything is happening.
  3. So just leave the system for around 30 seconds before doing anything such as booting the system.
  4. The ACPI tables will be written to the /CLOVER/ACPI/origin folder on the USB or your macOS drive, whichever you are using to boot the system.
  5. Provide a compressed copy of your /CLOVER/ACPI/origin folder.
If you are using OpenCore, do the following:
  1. Download and install Hackintool application.
  2. Navigate to the Utilities tab in Hackintool.
  3. Select the 'Dump ACPI' icon (fourth from the right below the main window)
  4. A Finder pane will open, so you can create a new folder (on your desktop or somewhere it is easy to find), Save the tables in the new folder.
  5. Compress and attach the folder.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#4
Which version of Clover are you using?

Are you using FileVault?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
HP Compaq 4300
CPU
Intel Core I5 3475S @2.90ghz
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT 1030 & Intel HD Graphics 4000
#5
i am using version 4945 and no im not using firevault
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#6
OK, just checking, as you have a number of drivers that are specific to the use of FileVault in your drivers64 and drivers64UEFI folders. These two folders become obsolete when you update Clover beyond version 4986 or something along those lines. They are replaced with a new 'drivers' folder that contains up to three sub-folders 'Bios', 'Off' and 'UEFI'.

I would recommend you update your system to Clover_r5119, as that was a reasonably stable version of Clover that will work with Mojave and Catalina. Your system can natively update to both of these versions of macOS with the HD4000 IGPU.

Copy of Clover_r5119 attached below.
 

Attachments

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#7
Are you using a PS2 mouse or PS2 keyboard with your system?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
HP Compaq 4300
CPU
Intel Core I5 3475S @2.90ghz
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT 1030 & Intel HD Graphics 4000
#8
They ae both USB Mouse and keyboard
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#9
OK I thought that might be the case, who uses PS2 devices nowadays!

Did you by any chance start with the Hackintosh Zone distro (Niresh's distro)? As there seem to be some similarities between your Clover folder and one you would get with one of those distro's. Matters little, but just curious.

I have created and attached a CLOVER folder for you. It is based on my experiences with a number of Ivy Bridge systems. I have updated the Clover folder structure to match that expected when using Clover r5119, i.e. the two driver64 folders have been replaced with a single drivers folder.

I have specifically removed and replaced a number of kexts and drivers. Some were duplicates from the /CLOVER/kexts/10.14 folder others were simply not needed as far as I can tell and did little good for your system.

I have added three new SSDT's - SSDT-EC.aml, SSDT-HPET.aml and SSDT-OSXI.aml. The first two were generated using Corpnewt's SSDTTime script and your DSDT.aml. The other was obtained from the USBInjectAll- Master folder, which I downloaded from Rehabman's Bitbucket repository.

I have removed the SSDT-PLNF.aml you were using. As you shouldn't need that SSDT with your HD4000 IGPU. That is commonly used when people have problems with a Laptop display.

I would recommend you do the following to see how this new CLOVER folder works:

  1. Get hold of a spare USB pen drive, size doesn't matter as you are only installing Clover on the drive.
  2. Format the USB drive as HFS+ using Disk Utility
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 12.58.24.png Disk Utility settings for USB erasure.
  3. Now open the Clover_r5119 package I posted above. You should follow these screenshot images, so your Clover setup on the USB is correct:
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.40.06.png Select Continue button
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.40.20.png Enter your password when requested and select OK
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.40.33.png Select Continue Button
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.40.40.png Select Continue Button
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.40.49.png Select 'Change Install Location...' Button
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.40.59.png Select the USB pen drive , then select the continue button
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.41.08.png Select the 'Customise' button (bottom left)
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.54.39.png Make sure the top two items are selected, nothing else matters as the new CLOVER folder deals with all the other options. Select Install button.
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.42.16.png Enter your password when requested and Install Software button
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.53.40.png Close the Clover setup wizard once it completes.
    • Screenshot 2021-02-12 at 22.53.59.png You should have two partition Icons on your desktop. Both from the USB.
  4. The EFI Partition contains your newly installed Clover setup. Open the EFI Partition.
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.11.27.png EFI Partition will contain an EFI Folder, open this EFI Folder.
    • Screenshot 2020-02-04 at 13.11.36.png The EFI Folder will contain these three items.
  5. Drag and drop the CLOVER folder I created for your to this EFI Folder. This will Replace the non-working CLOVER folder on the USB.
  6. Whatever you do, do not select Merge when a window appears.
  7. Make sure you select REPLACE.
Your test USB is now ready for use on your system.

I have set the Clover config.plist to work with the Intel HD4000 IGPU only. I am assuming you have already removed the Nvidia card in anticipation of updating to Mojave or Catalina. So you need your Display/monitor connected to one of the IGPU display outputs when booting from this USB.

You also need to make sure that the Intel GPU is set as the default GPU in your bios.

Let me know how you get on. The Clover folder may need a little tweaking, that should be expected as I am doing the changes remotely, i.e. not hands on with the system to hand.

If you have any issues with the Clover folder post a photo of the kernel panic screen, so I can see what is occurring (hopefully).
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 16, 2021
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
HP Compaq 4300
CPU
Intel Core I5 3475S @2.90ghz
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT 1030 & Intel HD Graphics 4000
#10
So I did what you told me and I installed clover 5119 and replaced the clover folder with the one you provided and no dice it is still the same it gets close to booting but I get appleintelframebuffercarpi start and fails and later Kext stall igpu also should have said that im using a VGA monitor that might have to do with something
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#11
OK, VGA connectors are not natively supported in macOS. They sometimes work, as if they were DisplayPort connectors. Othertimes they simply don't work. Pot luck as to which way it turns out for each user.

Your Compaq system has a DisplayPort (DP) connector, which is natively supported in macOS. I don't suppose your monitor can use the DP connection instead of the VGA connector?

System Specs for your HP Compaq Pro 4300 - https://support.hp.com/gb-en/document/c03404004#AbT2

I would also recommend that while you are troubleshooting the macOS setup/installation that you disconnect any other Windows, Linux or Data drives from the system.

Same goes for any additional external components using USB or any other connection. This will simplify the setup and installation by removing these devices from the initial installation equation. They can cause unnecessary issues if connected when installing macOS.

You should only have the keyboard, Mouse, display and audio speakers connected when troubleshooting or installing macOS.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#12
There are a number of other Ivy Bridge Framebuffers you can try. The one in the revised config.plist I provided in post # 9 was the recommended Framebuffer for use with a HD4000 IGPU set to drive a display.

Screenshot 2021-04-18 at 16.36.34.png
Ivy Bridge Framebuffers

The Framebuffers to use are shown in Blue text, the framebuffers with the red line through them are not ideal. As they are either for a laptop/mobile or have only one or zero connectors.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#14
DVI is better than VGA, can you switch to DVI connection on the monitor?

This is the Preferred order of Apple Display connections:
  1. DisplayPort
  2. DVI
  3. HDMI
  4. VGA
Connectors higher in the list being more likely to work out of the box.

Saying that I have never had a system where the DVI port didn't work out of the box (OOB).

Using DVI connector just means you have to use a separate Audio cable connecting between your rear audio jack on the I/O plate (Green port in the photo above) and your external or built-in monitor speakers.

I assume you have removed the low profile GT 1030 graphics card, since this photo was taken. That you have changed the Display settings in your Bios so the Intel GPU is set as the default display output. If not you should do so before you continue any further.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#16
Adapters can be a bit hit and miss. I assume your monitor has a VGA and HDMI connector but not got a DVI connector.

I need you to enter the Bios on your System and disable the Serial IO port, which the screenshot above shows is active/enabled (item 5 in the list below).

While doing this have a look to see if any of these other Bios settings are present and if they don'y already set them so they match the list below:
  1. Virtualization : Enabled
  2. VT-d : Disabled
  3. XHCI Hand-Off : Enabled
  4. Legacy USB Support: Auto/Enabled
  5. IO SerialPort : Disabled
  6. Network Stack : Disabled
  7. XMP Profile : Auto / Profile 1/Enabled
  8. UEFI Booting set to Enabled and set Priority over Legacy
  9. Secure Boot : Disabled
  10. Fast Boot : Disabled
  11. OS Type: Other OS
  12. Wake on LAN : Disabled
When using an Intel iGPU use these settings:
  1. Integrated Graphics : Enabled
  2. Graphics: IGD/Integrated/iGPU/CPU Graphics
  3. DVMT Pre-Allocated : 128M or higher
Some of these settings will not be present in your Bios, but check each and every sub-menu to make sure you don't miss any. You may also find that your bios has a different name for some items, or that they are hidden until another option is enabled.

Ask here if you are not sure about any of the items and if different options are given for any in the list.

I would also recommend you remove the SMCSuperIO.kext from your /CLOVER/kexts/Other folder, as the system is not finding a matching chip.

Did you try any of the other Capri framebuffers?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
HP Compaq 4300
CPU
Intel Core I5 3475S @2.90ghz
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT 1030 & Intel HD Graphics 4000
#17
I’ve gotten full acceleration on Mojave thinking of upgrading to macOS Big Sur Dvi works vga dose not but I’m alright with that thanks for all the help.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#18
Good to hear you have it working in Mojave.

The HD 4000 is not natively supported in Big Sur, you need a HD4600 or newer IGPU to run Big Sur with just the Intel Graphics driving a display.

You can run Catalina with your Ivy Bridge IGPU.

You need to look at these pages from the GPU Buyers Guide:
You have to install a compatible discrete graphics card for your system to run Big Sur, with the Intel HD4000 disabled in the bios. You also need to change the SMBIOS so you are using the iMac Pro 1,1 or Mac Pro6,1 or 7,1 SMBIOS.

I have installed Big Sur using a low profile Nvidia GT 710 (Asus branded) dGPU. Here is a link to the card on Amazon.co.uk - https://www.amazon.co.uk/ASUS-GT710-SL-2GD5-GeForce-GT-Graphics-Efficient/dp/B074Q4QF4J/ref=sr_1_5?crid=3E13SK29ULPYD&dchild=1&keywords=nvidia+gt+710+2gb+graphics+card&qid=1618851687&sprefix=Nvidia+GT710,aps,140&sr=8-5&th=1

This is a single slot passive cooled graphics card, which would probably work quite well in your Small Form Factor HP/Compaq system. The card linked above comes with a low profile PCIe adapter.

Best of luck whatever you choose to do next.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
macOS
10.13.6
Mobo
HP Compaq 4300
CPU
Intel Core I5 3475S @2.90ghz
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT 1030 & Intel HD Graphics 4000
#19
You are wrong installed macOS Big Sur couple hours ago with opencore and it works just fine full acceleration
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
macOS
10.15.7
Mobo
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
GPU
Powercolor RX 580 8GB
#20
Hey, you learn something new every day.

What SMBIOS are you using, one for a MacBook Pro or Air 2013? As those are the only Mac systems that can natively use the HD 4000 with Big Sur. The oldest iMac SMBIOS that Big Sur natively recognises is for the late 2014 model, which uses a HD 4600 IGPU. Are you faking an iMac 14.4 or 15.1 SMBIOS? What other hacks have you used?

Care to share your OpenCore setup, so others can try Big Sur with an Ivy Bridge CPU/IGPU. Obviously you would want to redact/remove the Serial number, UUID, ROM and MLB in the shared config.plist.
 

Latest posts