[SOLVED] Trying to switch from High Sierra to Catalina - Fresh install or update?

Drewbie

macOS
Mobo
Asus Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
4GHz 14-core 28-thread Intel Core i9-7940X
GPU
Radeon Vega Frontier
Hey everyone, so here's my situation in a nutshell. Years ago I had someone build me a Hackintosh. I have plenty of experience with building Non-hackintosh computers, some programming knowledge, etc; so I'm not a complete neophyte. However I had never done a Hackintosh before and asked someone else to build me one. This person is no longer around and I need to update my OS as program makers are beginning to phase out design for High Sierra.

This site has a myriad of tutorials and the like, and I feel like I've jumped straight into the deep end with only a mild understanding of how to swim. Thus, I have questions:

1) Should I just do a fresh install of Catalina? Will that delete all of the High Sierra data and apps I have installed on my main drive? I would really hate to lose all these apps. (assume some of them are not readily available anymore but will still work on Catalina...)

2) Is there a way to update the OS that would remove the High Sierra build and allow me to keep everything I have (almost as if I were updating properly on a genuine mac)?

Any advice, help, or direction-pointing would be amazing. Thank you all so much!

Railgun

macOS
Mobo
GigaByte Z490 Gaming X
CPU
i7 10700
GPU
Sapphire RX580
I recommend always work/test on a spare drive. If that is not possible, build a Catalina installer thumb drive to see if you can boot from it and that way you can workout any issues with the boot loader. I suggest going with OpenCore boot loader.
  • Know that moving to Catalina from High Sierra, you will loose 32bit apps & plugins etc.
  • You may want to research regarding you graphics card to see compatibility and if the ports you want to use are working for others. There are some recent posts on this forum regarding Vega issues.

Drewbie

macOS
Mobo