[Solved] TUF_H370-PRO_GAMING_WIFI stuck at 2 minutes installation

hussaino3

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Mobo
Gigabyte Z390-I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
GPU
NA
#1
Hello all,

I have been working on this for 3 days nonstop and I haven't succeeded yet.
My installation hangs at the very end every time using different config.plist files.
I realized that the problem occurs when the OS tries to reboot.
I even tried to reboot the OS right after the language selection screen and it freezes.
Please help.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Mobo
ASUS Z370-E Gaming ROG Strix
CPU
Intel i7 7800k 3.7Ghz
GPU
Asus Strix gaming Radeon RX 580
#2
Are you trying to update to Mojave?
 

hussaino3

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Mobo
Gigabyte Z390-I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
GPU
NA
#5
My installation media works fine, clover also works fine. I go all the way to the language page and then after I accept I can use the Disk Utility without any problems.
Now in this screen, the installation can't go all the way to the end.
My analysis is because the OS cannot send a reboot or shutdown signal to the motherboard.
After the language selection screen, I click on the apple logo on top left and then restart, and the system hangs.
So that's what I don't understand.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Mobo
ASUS Z370-E Gaming ROG Strix
CPU
Intel i7 7800k 3.7Ghz
GPU
Asus Strix gaming Radeon RX 580
#6
Try plugging a lan cable in to your hackintosh. Sometimes they get stuck on the installation if you have no internet connection
 

hussaino3

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Mobo
Gigabyte Z390-I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
GPU
NA
#7
But why does it get stuck when I try to reboot without installation?
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Mobo
ASUS Z370-E Gaming ROG Strix
CPU
Intel i7 7800k 3.7Ghz
GPU
Asus Strix gaming Radeon RX 580
#8
Not sure what your trying to explain their mate.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Mobo
ASUS Z370-E Gaming ROG Strix
CPU
Intel i7 7800k 3.7Ghz
GPU
Asus Strix gaming Radeon RX 580
#9
If you go back to your clover Bootloader and put it in verbose mode we can read what the issue might be. So try that and copy and paste the text in the chat
 

hussaino3

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Mobo
Gigabyte Z390-I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
GPU
NA
#10
I am sorry, it must be confusing. I couldn't find anyone online who faced my problem.
Let me explain it for a sec.
I made the bootable USB with MacOS Mojave, and it works. It goes through the apple logo with loading just fine. Then comes the language selection screen. Then I hit continue with English. Now the next screen is with 4 options: recover from time machine, install new macOS, disk utility and one more thing which I forgot.
Anyway, on this screen I can hit the top left icon which is the apple logo icon, a drop down list comes up with 3 things: startup disk, restart and shutdown. If I hit restart or shut down, the OS doesn't actually shutdown and the computer stays on. The only thing that happens is the whole thing freezes, I can't move my mouse or do anything with my keyboard. It's just frozen like that.
Thank you for taking the time to help, much appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Mobo
ASUS Z370-E Gaming ROG Strix
CPU
Intel i7 7800k 3.7Ghz
GPU
Asus Strix gaming Radeon RX 580
#11
If your in the main desktop now and all the install is complete, but you want to shut down and it freezes then I get what you are saying now.

Question one, what’s the brand of your keyboard and mouse plugged in to your computer

Question two, do you have this kext in your Kext folder “GenericUSBXHCI” or something similar to it ?
 

hussaino3

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Mobo
Gigabyte Z390-I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
GPU
NA
#12
No, before the installation even. Attached is a screenshot, I should've done this from the beginning, sorry.
As you can see, before anything, I click on the apple logo. Then if I click shut down or restart, the system freezes indefinitely.
The keyboard is Asus, and the mouse is hama brand.
As for the kext, I have USBInjectAll.kext and XHCI-unsupported.kext
I just added GenericUSBXHCI but nothing has changed.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Mobo
ASUS Z370-E Gaming ROG Strix
CPU
Intel i7 7800k 3.7Ghz
GPU
Asus Strix gaming Radeon RX 580
#13
Ok so my two questions above are invalid as I thought you had made it past the installation, sorry bout that.

We have a few things to try.
.retry the insulation with lan cable plugged in.

.try booting in verbose mode so we can read the faults.

. Try going back and rebuilding your install USB, the files in it might be corrupt but keep a back up of that EFI folder

. Make sure your NVME is a APFS formatted with disk utility.

.if none of that works then upload your EFI folder.
 

hussaino3

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Mobo
Gigabyte Z390-I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
GPU
NA
#14
Ok, I am really thankful you're working with me on this.

I'll address one suggestion/question one by one:


.retry the insulation with lan cable plugged in.
Why do you think this would help?

.try booting in verbose mode so we can read the faults.
This would show the verbose before the language selection screen, what can we understand from that?

. Try going back and rebuilding your install USB, the files in it might be corrupt but keep a back up of that EFI folder.
I have done this a 100 times by now, I promise.

. Make sure your NVME is a APFS formatted with disk utility.
I have tried this as well it didn't work.


If you go back to my previous message with the attachment, you can see that I am only trying to restart within the installation OS.
It seems to me that if that works, then everything would be just fine from there.

Again, thank you so much for your time and support.
Attached is my EFI.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Mobo
ASUS Z370-E Gaming ROG Strix
CPU
Intel i7 7800k 3.7Ghz
GPU
Asus Strix gaming Radeon RX 580
#16
if that one doesn't work you can have my EFI folder
 

hussaino3

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Mobo
Gigabyte Z390-I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
GPU
NA
#17
Try with this folder write how it went
Ok, this one looked a little bit better. When I shutdown or restart from the screen I showed above, it turns off the screen but doesn't fully shutdown.
But the installation still freezes at the end.
Any other ideas? :)
 

hussaino3

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Mobo
Gigabyte Z390-I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
GPU
NA
#20

Attachments